Latest news


Accession of The Republic of Seychelles to the Harare Protocol

Starting on 1st January 2022, applicants of the ARIPO system will be able to designate Seychelles in their patent and design applications. The President of Seychelles, Wavel Ramkalawan, signed the instrument of accession to the Harare Protocol on 26th August 2021. The Harare Protocol on Patents, Utility Models and Industrial Designs governs the regional procedures and substantive requirements for the protection of IP rights amongst its member-states, within the ARIPO framework. The other ARIPO Member States that are Contracting Parties to the Harare Protocol are: Botswana, Kingdom of Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. For more information, please contact

Learn more

Send us a message